# **Business and Information Technology Education Division**

2014 CareerTech Summer Conference Tulsa Cox Convention Center Ballroom A Tulsa, Oklahoma Business Meeting Minutes August 4, 2014

#### Call to Order / Welcome

President Teresa Pinkston called the meeting to order at 12:00 pm.

### **Approval of Minutes**

Daniel Devers reported the previous meeting minutes had been posted to the biteok.org website for the review of the members prior to meeting. Roberta Sams moved for the minutes to be approved, seconded by Athena Frank. Motion Carried.

### **Treasurer's Report**

Pam Husley presented the BITE Treasurer's Report. Sherri Gleaves moved for the treasurer's report to be approved, seconded by Mary Pipps Cloos. Motion Carried.

### **Reporter Update**

Don Helm gave the Reporter's Update. Don wanted to express that the primary goal of the Reporter was to get information out to the membership, and the best way to do so it through the use of the website at <u>www.biteok.org</u>. His primary goal the last year has been to create a website in which is good for the members and non-members alike to get information about our organization. He also asked for the consideration of a media relations committee through the membership to gather more information about what our membership is doing.

# **Committee Reports**

Committee reports have been posted online at <u>www.biteok.org</u>. Chairs for the committees are: Awards-Janet Harris, Audit-Angela Brownfield, CTAC-Mary Barton, Diversity Action-Brenda McClain, Legislative-Christie Hyatt, Membership-Teresa Pinkston, Mutual Benefit Plan, Nominating-Cindy Adams, PAC-Dayna Stephens, Policy-Athena Frank, and Scholarship-Sonora White.

# **Unfinished Business**

None at this time

#### New Business

**CTAC** – Mary Barton reported that Pat McGregor, Executive Director is to retire this year and OkACTE is in search for a new executive director. The position will open now at the end of the summer conference and will close on Labor Day. They are going to try to have someone selected before the end of the year. Dr. Robert Somers will resign as state director and Marcie Mack will step in as interim state director.

**Membership Benefits** – Encourage other teachers to join the division within the division's scope. We need to make sure we are professionals are leading by example in joining

organizations and becoming involved with other items than just the classroom. Participate like you ask your students to join Business Professionals of America.

**Mutual Benefits** –A report was given about the death benefit plan and stated that the committee was looking providing open enrollment sometime soon. Also, Mutual Benefits name will change to Death Benevolence. 2013, unfortunately had more deaths than ever; paid out \$77,368 and received \$68,000 they dipped into reserves to meet the pay out this year.

**Legislative**– Bill Chamberlin is the outgoing representative and Christie Hyatt is the incoming representative for the Legislative committee. It was stated members should get involved and get to know their candidates for the election year. That we all need to vote and vote for the candidate we feel that has a strong support for the goals in which we represent.

**PAC** – Dayna Stephens reported the balance of PAC was \$52,000 in the election year. The goal was to raise money for the candidates, and support them with \$30,000. A person could join PAC for \$20.00. See Dayna Stephens or Bill Chamberlin on the details.

Scholarship – The BITE Division will award one \$500.00 scholarship to Alisha Anagobee

**Outstanding Regional Member Award** – Regional Vice Presidents presented awards to the outstanding regional members. Award Recipients: NC- Angela Durant Tyson, NE- April Blackwell, NW-Diane Bull, SC-Regina Carr, SE-Pam Graham, SW-Trisha Peirce

**Bylaws** – Athena Frank presented the 2 bylaws amendment changes, which were posted on the <u>www.biteok.org</u> website. Each amendment were voted on and passed.

#### 2014-2015 New Officers

Teresa Pinkston introduced the new officers: President-Afton Brower, President-Elect-Cindy Adams, Vice-President Northwest-Emily Goff, Vice-President North Central-Angela Brownfield, Vice-President Northeast-Brenda McClain, and Reporter-Don Helm.

Introduction of the 2014-2015 President – Teresa Pinkston introduced the new President and turned the meeting over to Afton Brower.

Both Teresa Pinkston and Athena Frank were given the gavel award for their duties as president.

# **Adjournment**

Afton Brower adjourned the BITE Divisional Meeting and members moved into Regional Meetings led by Regional Vice Presidents.